Floating World Vol. 1

Aaron Novik

Floating World Vol. 1

Porto Franco Records

When bands claim the mantle of “avant-garde” they mostly don’t deserve it.  It’s rare a band comes out that really embraces the spirit of avant-garde.  Freddy Mercury did it with Queen, Kevin Barnes with Of Montreal, and it looks like Aaron Novik‘s following their leads.  As a San Francisco native he grew up in a cultural hotspot, experience the weird and strange on a daily basis.  Originally a composer and bass clarinetist with his foot in many of the cities booming scenes (including free jazz, avant-garde metal, psychedelic rock and even klezmer, a musical tradition of eastern European jews).  Novik only recently gave up that charge to create his own soundscapes intended to be reminiscent of the spirit of the weird and strange and San Fransisco.  Floating World Vol. 1 is refreshing and lengthy, a good purchase for someone who misses the weird and strange, bored with everything else.


Release Date:  1/18/2011


There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: